Introducing DAX Video Course

This is an introductory video course about the DAX language. DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to move the first steps with DAX.

The goal is to teach the DAX language using Power BI for all the examples. You can download the initial Power BI Desktop file used in the demos and repeat all the steps shown in the videos. The same concepts can be used also on Power Pivot and on Analysis Services Tabular. The course is made of 150 minutes of lectures. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your advances. Within the course you can download the slides and the initial Power BI file used in the demos.

Curriculum

  • Presentation of Introducing DAX

    • Presentation of Introducing DAX Video Course
  • Slides and examples

    • How to download and use the examples
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
    • What is DAX?
    • Calculated Columns
    • Measures
    • Aggregation Functions
    • Using Variables
  • Table Functions

    • Table Functions
    • Calculated Tables
    • Filtering a Table
    • Removing Filters
    • Mixing Filters
    • DISTINCT
    • RELATEDTABLE
  • Evaluation Contexts

    • Evaluation Contexts
    • What is an Evaluation Context?
    • Example of a Filter Context
    • Row Context
    • There are Always Two Contexts
  • CALCULATE

    • CALCULATE
    • What is CALCULATE?
    • Filters are Tables
  • Evaluation Contexts and Relationships

    • Evaluation Contexts and Relationships
    • Filters and Relationships
    • Row Context - Many Tables
    • Filter Context - Many Tables
    • Context Transition
  • Time Intelligence in DAX

    • Time Intelligence in DAX
    • Date Table
    • What is Time Intelligence?
  • Conclusion

    • Conclusion

Training Platform

This course is conducted through our training platform which is immersive and designed to facilitate your experience.

Discover all the features

Student Rating
4.9
1433 ratings
Student Reviews (747)
  • Ann-Sofie Grundahl (Feb 18, 2021)

    Nice introduction, thank you! The course is a good way to get the DAX introduced, because since there is so much, it is difficult to figure where to start. But at this course, you are slowly led through different parts of DAX, and the explanations along the way are very pedagogical. For example, the fact that there is so much emphasis on understanding the "formulas" is really good, as it is crucial for further work with DAX.

  • Andie Hernandez (Feb 17, 2021)

    Fantastic course. The examples that Alberto and Marco present are easy to follow along either in the sample file or in your own model/report to see the functions come to life in your own data. The course interface is well-designed, easy to follow, and encouraging. Thanks!

  • Lee Thanh (Feb 15, 2021)

    Thank you for letting this course free, but I'm not happy when finish because you two just like scrambled to say. Voices mixed and it's extremely hard to listen.

    • Hi Lee, Thank you for your feedback!!! I am sorry to hear you feel this way. We have invested heavily in hand-written subtitles for all of our courses, partly for this reason. Feel free to turn them on and try again! Thanks, Claire
      Reply by Claire Costa (Feb 15, 2021)
  • Riana Marais (Feb 11, 2021)

    Very Insightful, Thank you!

  • Coro Lamoré (Feb 10, 2021)

    Clearly explained with examples.

  • Raj Uchhana (Feb 7, 2021)

    Wonderfully done introduction to DAX.

  • Anna Khuchua (Feb 7, 2021)

    Wonderful course. It really touches every aspect of DAX. Thank you very much!

  • Carlos Manuel Machado da Cunha (Jan 31, 2021)

    Great course, great professor, for beginner users the course is really great as a first approach!

  • Stanley Nwujo (Jan 22, 2021)

    Very interesting and informative course, you guys are the best and I will love to master this beautiful language called DAX. Thank you guys

  • Tom Farrar (Jan 21, 2021)

    Great stuff...

  • Jairo Alves (Jan 21, 2021)

    Very good material indeed. I have been able to go from zero to novice from this course.

  • Michael Anderson (Jan 8, 2021)

    Great course structure, very well presented. As close as you can get to a real classroom experience through a recorded lecture.

  • XIAO TANG (Jan 7, 2021)

    An excellent course for beginners to learn DAX! Thank you!

  • Austin Graham (Jan 6, 2021)

    Throught out most of the lectures, especially Intro to Dax - Measures it really felt like the presenter and the one controlling the screen were not in sync and practiaclly fought with each other. It was quite distracting. In the measures lecture we are told not to include the table name when referring to measures and even in the example they show it doesn't. BUT in my version, presumably newer, it does. Does that mean best practice has changed? I could never get my visualization to look the same in the time intelligence lecture. If I used the matrix, which they did, I would add my two data points to the "rows" section and I would get 2 hierarchies. If I used a table, I didn't get all the summing and nice formatting. Something changed with how PowerBi treats the matrix and I simply couldn't replicate the examples. The last thing is probably the least important but the most annoying of all! As a programmer it was very frustrating to hear "If its not formatted, its not DAX code" or whatever. This is a blatant LIE!! You don't need newlines and you don't need to space out your parentheses in order for it to run. Most code can be written in one line if you want it to. Nobody says "If its not formatted then its not Java Code! Python is the first langauge that even cares about formatting and even it can be written on one line in most instances. Just say its best practice, not that its outright not DAX code.

  • abbi farah (Jan 6, 2021)

    good cpourse very details