This is an introductory video course about the DAX language. DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to move the first steps with DAX.

The goal is to teach the DAX language using Power BI for all the examples. You can download the initial Power BI Desktop file used in the demos and repeat all the steps shown in the videos. The same concepts can be used also on Power Pivot and on Analysis Services Tabular. The course is made of 150 minutes of lectures. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your advances. Within the course you can download the slides and the initial Power BI file used in the demos.

Curriculum

  • Presentation of Introducing DAX

    • Presentation of Introducing DAX Video Course
  • Slides and examples

    • How to download and use the examples
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
    • What is DAX?
    • Calculated Columns
    • Measures
    • Aggregation Functions
    • Using Variables
  • Table Functions

    • Table Functions
    • Calculated Tables
    • Filtering a Table
    • Removing Filters
    • Mixing Filters
    • DISTINCT
    • RELATEDTABLE
  • Evaluation Contexts

    • Evaluation Contexts
    • What is an Evaluation Context?
    • Example of a Filter Context
    • Row Context
    • There are Always Two Contexts
  • CALCULATE

    • CALCULATE
    • What is CALCULATE?
    • Filters are Tables
  • Evaluation Contexts and Relationships

    • Evaluation Contexts and Relationships
    • Filters and Relationships
    • Row Context - Many Tables
    • Filter Context - Many Tables
    • Context Transition
  • Time Intelligence in DAX

    • Time Intelligence in DAX
    • Date Table
    • What is Time Intelligence?
  • Conclusion

    • Conclusion
Student Rating
4.9
789 ratings
Student Reviews (426)
  • Manindra Kumar (Oct 27, 2019)

    The course gives enough and clear concepts with example to begin with DAX.

  • Jason Araos (Oct 26, 2019)

    Es un curso asombroso. En verdad había estado estudiando cómo usar con Power BI pero al no saber cómo se trabajaba con DAX me quedaba corto. Una vez empecé este curso, 1000 preguntas se me respondieron en muy poco tiempo. Son unos excelentes profesores. Muchas gracias por el curso.

  • Silvia Regina Assunção (Oct 25, 2019)

    Great!

  • Yashwanth Nallagatla (Oct 24, 2019)

    This Course is really good and helpful.

  • MARCOS FRANÇA JARDIM (Oct 23, 2019)

    Excelent...

  • Delijah Williams (Oct 23, 2019)

    Really enjoyed this course. It was the first that assisted me in connecting definition with application. Especially enjoy learning the why and when behind measures, calculated columns, and tables. Taking Mastery course next! Thank you.

  • Francisco Maico (Oct 21, 2019)

    DAX has changed the way I see my work

  • Oyinkansola Rufai (Oct 20, 2019)

    I think this is a resourceful video. Well explained and easy to understand

  • Robert Williams (Oct 4, 2019)

    Thank you so much for the course, it was great to work through and really helped me get an introduction to DAX and give me the foundation and confidence I need to move forwards and not get lost in starting out to learn the language. I would love to have seen something that forces more hands-on training, as in some practices + test questions at the end of each module or video. WiseOwl does some nice practices for example (although a bit hidden) perhaps doing this will help build a better foundation before people then move onto the next (paid) courses.

  • Christine Rowe (Oct 2, 2019)

    This course is just what I was looking for! There's lots of how to videos, but they don't explain the concepts or help to create a foundation from which I could build and grow. This course has filled many gaps I didn't even know I had in my foundational knowledge. Thank you!!

  • Markku Kolehmainen (Oct 1, 2019)

    Just great! Presentation was really clear and easy to follow. Content was also sufficient.

  • Michal Suplinčák (Sep 27, 2019)

    I think, It was perfect introduction to this language. I will recommend to my colleagues and friends. Only one thing, your font does not support letters from my native language.

  • PABLO MORICZ DE TECSO (Sep 27, 2019)

    It's a really good introductory course for people like me who know nothing about DAX and want to start learning about it. Still, as a suggestion I would recommend checking for mistakes while explaining during the videos which can confuse the audience. In general you after correct yourselves, but that leads to confusion sometimes. Also, in some videos you both speak at the same time, making it complicated for the viewer to understand what's happening. I hope this can be corrected in future versions of the introductory course for future viewers to make the most of this amazing course.

  • Alessandro Farolfi (Sep 24, 2019)

    GREAT!!! Thanks a lot!

  • Luis Angel Mezones Maldonado (Sep 22, 2019)

    This is a fantastic introduction to the DAX language, done in a clear and concise way. Thank you.