Mastering DAX Video Course

This is the video course version of the Mastering DAX workshop.
DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to learn and master the DAX language.

The goal of the course is to teach all the features of DAX, providing the knowledge to write formulas for common and advanced business scenarios. The video course is made up of over 15 hours of lectures, plus another 15-20 hours of individual exercises. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your progress. Within the course you can download the material for all the exercises.


Students have access to a private discussion area where they can interact with the instructors asking questions related to the lectures and the exercises.

Curriculum

  • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition

    • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition
      FREE
  • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos

    • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos
      FREE
    • How to download and complete exercises
      FREE
    • Download exercises
    • Download demos
    • Slides of the video course
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
      FREE
    • What is DAX?
      FREE
    • DAX data types
      FREE
    • Calculated columns
      FREE
    • Measures
      FREE
    • Aggregation functions
    • Counting values
    • Conditional functions
    • Handling errors
    • Using variables
    • Mathematical functions
    • Relational functions
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 02.10 - Average sales per customer
      • 02.20 - Average delivery time
      • 02.50 - Last update of customer
      • 02.40 - Working days
      • 02.30 - Discount categories
  • Table functions

    • Table functions
      FREE
    • Introduction to table functions
    • Filtering a table
    • Ignoring filters
    • Mixing filters
    • Distinct
    • How many values for a column
    • ALLSELECTED
    • RELATEDTABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • Tables with one row and one column
    • Table variables
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 03.20 - Percentage of sales
      • 03.10 - Delivery working days
      • 03.40 - Sales of products in the first week
      • 03.30 - Customers with children
  • Evaluation contexts

    • Evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • Introduction to evaluation contexts
    • Filter context
    • Row context
    • Context errors
    • Filtering a table
    • Using RELATED in a row context
    • Ranking by price
    • Evaluation contexts and relationships
    • Filters and relationships
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 04.10 - Nested iterators
      • 04.20 - Customers in North America
      • 05.10 - Create a parameter table
  • The CALCULATE function

    • The CALCULATE function
      FREE
    • CALCULATE
    • CALCULATE examples
    • CALCULATE recap
    • What is a filter context?
    • KEEPFILTERS
    • CALCULATE operators
    • Use one column only in compact syntax
    • Variables and evaluation contexts
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.05 - Sales of red and blue products
      • 05.20 - Understanding CALCULATE
      • 05.25 - Sales of blue products
      • 05.15 - Computing percentages
  • Advanced evaluation contexts

    • Advanced evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • CALCULATE modifiers
    • USERELATIONSHIP
    • CROSSFILTER
    • ALL
    • ALLSELECTED
    • KEEPFILTERS
      FREE
    • Context transition
    • Context transition /2
    • Circular dependency
    • CALCULATE execution order
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.35 - Correct sales of grey products
      • 05.40 - Best customers
      • 05.45 - Customers buying many products
      • 05.50 - Large sales
      • 05.30 - Percentage of customers
      • 05.55 - Counting spikes
  • Iterators

    • Iterators
      FREE
    • Working with iterators
    • MINX and MAXX
    • Useful iterators
    • RANKX
    • ISINSCOPE
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 07.10 - Ranking customers (static)
      • 07.20 - Ranking customers (dynamic)
      • 07.30 - Date with the highest sales
      • 07.40 - Moving average
  • Building a date table

    • Building a date table
      FREE
    • Introduction to date table
    • Auto Date/Time
    • CALENDARAUTO
    • Mark as date table
    • Using multiple dates
  • Time intelligence in DAX

    • Time intelligence in DAX
      FREE
    • What is time intelligence?
      FREE
    • Time intelligence functions
      FREE
    • DATEADD
    • DATESINPERIOD
    • Running total
    • Mixing time intelligence functions
    • Semi-additive measures
    • Calculations over weeks
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 08.10 - Running total
      • 08.20 - Comparison YOY%
      • 08.30 - Sales in first three months
      • 08.40 - Semi-additive calculations
  • Hierarchies in DAX

    • Hierarchies in DAX
      FREE
    • What are hierarchies?
    • FILTER and CROSSFILTER
    • Percentages over hierarchies
    • Parent-child hierarchies
  • Querying with DAX

    • Querying with DAX
      FREE
    • Working with tables and queries
    • EVALUATE
    • CALCULATETABLE
    • SELECTCOLUMNS
    • SUMMARIZE
    • SUMMARIZECOLUMNS
    • CROSSJOIN
    • TOPN and GENERATE
    • ROW and DATATABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • UNION, INTERSECT, and EXCEPT
    • GROUPBY
    • Query measures
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 13.10 - Sales by year
      • 13.20 - Filtering and grouping sales
      • 13.30 - Using TOPN and GENERATE
      • 13.40 - Sales to top customers
      • 13.50 - Sales of top three colors
  • Data lineage and TREATAS

    • Data lineage and TREATAS
      FREE
    • What is data lineage?
    • TREATAS
  • Expanded tables

    • Expanded tables
      FREE
    • Filters are tables
    • Difference between base tables and expanded tables
    • Filtering a column
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.10 - Distinct count of countries
      • 14.20 - Sales quantity greater than two
  • Arbitrarily shaped filters

    • Arbitrarily shaped filters
      FREE
    • What are arbitrarily shaped filters?
    • Example of an arbitrarily shaped filter
  • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts

    • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts
      FREE
    • ALLSELECTED
    • Shadow filter contexts
  • Segmentation

    • Segmentation
      FREE
    • Static segmentation
    • Circular dependency in calculated tables
    • Dynamic segmentation
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.10 - Static segmentation
  • Many-to-many relationships

    • Many-to-many relationships
      FREE
    • How to handle many-to-many relationships
    • Bidirectional filtering
    • Expanded table filtering
    • Comparison of the different techniques
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.30 - Many-to-many relationships
  • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters

    • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters
      FREE
    • Understanding ambiguity
      FREE
  • Relationships at different granularities

    • Relationships at different granularities
      FREE
    • Working at different granularity
    • Using TREATAS
    • Calculated tables to slice dimensions
    • Leveraging weak relationships
    • Scenario recap
    • Checking granularity in the report
    • Hiding or reallocating
  • Additional exercises

    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.30 - Same product sales
      • 14.40 - Commentary on report
      • 15.20 - New customers
  • Calculation groups

    • Calculation groups
      FREE
    • Introducing calculation groups
      FREE
    • Basic measures
    • Calculation items are patterns
    • Creating calculation groups
    • Changing the format string
    • Excluding specific measures
    • Using calculation items in DAX
    • Calculation item application
    • Calculation items on complex expressions
    • Multiple calculation groups in a report
    • Understanding precedence in calculation groups
    • Reusing calculation items
    • Recursion and best practices
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 09.10 - Time calculations
      • 09.20 - Multiple calculation groups
      • 09.30 - Sold versus delivered
      • 09.40 - Min, Max and Avg calculation group
      • 09.50 - Top and bottom products

Training Platform

This course is conducted through our training platform which is immersive and designed to facilitate your experience.

Discover all the features

Student Rating
4.9
212 ratings
89%
9%
1%
1%
0%
Student Reviews (139)
  • Jürg Jenny (Jan 2, 2019)

    This exceptional course provides 10 hours of high quality video tutorials. All the concepts of DAX are explained in detail and in a comprehensible and pleasant way. To sum it up: This course the way to go if you want to become a DAX master. Thank you very much for creating such great content! The only point that could be improved in my opinion: Provide more exercises. The contained labs are very good and I think working through them helps the most to really learn the DAX language. But there are so many functions introduced in the course that are not used in the labs. Having a larger set of exercises (including the solutions) would help to dive even deeper in the DAX world. Apart from that: GREAT WORK!

  • Pablo Amuchastegui (Jan 1, 2019)

    Excellent course!

  • Asier Barbarin (Dec 11, 2018)

    Excellent. It helped me a lot to understand key concepts

  • Yadhuram MC (Nov 30, 2018)

    This is Awesome. This would be like a Bible of DAX and I will refer this always

  • Garth Zoller (Nov 25, 2018)

    Before the course, I knew nothing about coding in DAX. The course instructors and content were clear, relevant, and accommodated a variety of skill levels. Also, the labs are helpful to practice and recall what I learned. After completing the course, I am already using DAX to solve common data challenges.

  • Chidiebere Agbara (Nov 13, 2018)

    I enjoyed the DAX programming.

  • Eduardo Rocha Clemente (Oct 10, 2018)

    The course is very dense, as I expect but the many growing concepts and the hard exercises are in a level that not correspond to the video classes. Video classes are easy and in a lower level presented. Perhaps , as a suggestion you could send us videos about the exercises resolution. The forum in that case is not enough. I realized that was a "jump" between the classes and exercises. Intermediate exercises between them could be another strategy to consolidate the concepts before going direct to the complex exercises.

    • Eduardo, thanks for the feedback. Any example of intermediate exercises would be useful - we know that we have several exercises that we consider basic or intermediate, and we can imagine what you consider advanced, but a more detailed explanation would be very useful for our evaluation. Thanks!
      Reply by SQLBI (Oct 10, 2018)
  • Shivakumar Konar (Sep 23, 2018)

    This course is absolutely brilliant and covers all the topics of DAX in depth. The lectures very quickly go into advanced mode right from the word go, so this is not something you can just watch on the go. You truly have to get your hands dirty and watch all the videos multiple times(I am on 4th iteration :D). What makes this course more valuable is ablility to get in touch with Marco & Alberto. Marco has helped me solve so many problems, not just the ones mentioned in the course, any real life problem you encounter, Marco was able to solve it and give the approach of solving the problem. Moreover, I was able to clear the Micro 70-778 exam. Although this course does not cover all the sections required to clear the 70-778 exam, but it definitely covers the largest section relating to DAX. Thanks Marco & Alberto for putting this course together

  • Steven Fortier (Sep 11, 2018)

    Thank you so much for this course. Alberto and Marco are really the best teacher you can get to teach you DAX. I had already 1 year of experience with Power Pivot but this course helped me a lot to understand all the works under the hood. I will definitely buy their book in the next months.

  • Joe Chamberlain (Jun 15, 2018)

    Excellently explained and delivered, will find this very useful. If I'm honest I found the exercises very difficult, but I probably didn't allow myself enough time. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Ihthisham Hazard (Mar 28, 2018)

    Thanks Alberto and Marco for this. I bought the Book (Definitive Guide to DAX) in 2016 and started reading until advance filter context and then thought I want to learn from Video. The Video was a great boost for my dax knowledge.

  • Andres Taroco (Mar 19, 2018)

    Muy buen curso.

  • Raheel Rana (Mar 18, 2018)

    Learned a lot ...Thanks, Alberto and Marco ... you guys have made many lifes easy :)

  • Izacc Moreira (Feb 26, 2018)

    Thats a great course!!!!

  • Sony Thomas (Dec 22, 2017)

    Very good presentation. It satisfied my requirements. I have gone through all the topics by one week and will refresh it from beginning again . From last few months I was doing projects for my company on Power BI with few DAX equations like SUM , SUMX and few equations with Filters, now I will be able to use the power of DAX to provide powerful reports. Once I refresh the course and able to practise it , I prefer to take the DAX Optimization course. Once again thanks for the good presentation.

Would you prefer a classroom course?

This video course is based on a classroom course we teach all around the world. If you prefer a classroom learning experience, take a look at the dates below for a list of our upcoming classroom courses!
 Melbourne, VIC, AU Feb 22-24, 2021
Melbourne
 Sydney, NSW, AU Mar 1-3, 2021
Sydney
 Charlotte, NC, US Jun 15-17, 2021
Charlotte
 Chicago, IL, US Jun 22-24, 2021
Chicago