Mastering DAX Video Course

This is the video course version of the Mastering DAX workshop.
DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to learn and master the DAX language.

The goal of the course is to teach all the features of DAX, providing the knowledge to write formulas for common and advanced business scenarios. The video course is made up of over 15 hours of lectures, plus another 15-20 hours of individual exercises. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your progress. Within the course you can download the material for all the exercises.

Students have access to a private discussion area where they can interact with the instructors asking questions related to the lectures and the exercises.

Collapse allCurriculum

  • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition

    • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition
      FREE
  • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos

    • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos
      FREE
    • How to download and complete exercises
      FREE
    • Download exercises
    • Download demos
    • Slides of the video course
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
      FREE
    • What is DAX?
      FREE
    • DAX data types
      FREE
    • Calculated columns
      FREE
    • Measures
      FREE
    • Aggregation functions
    • Counting values
    • Conditional functions
    • Handling errors
    • Using variables
    • Mathematical functions
    • Relational functions
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 02.10 - Average sales per customer
      • 02.20 - Average delivery time
      • 02.50 - Last update of customer
      • 02.40 - Working days
      • 02.30 - Discount categories
  • Table functions

    • Table functions
      FREE
    • Introduction to table functions
    • Filtering a table
    • Ignoring filters
    • Mixing filters
    • Distinct
    • How many values for a column
    • ALLSELECTED
    • RELATEDTABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • Tables with one row and one column
    • Table variables
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 03.20 - Percentage of sales
      • 03.10 - Delivery working days
      • 03.40 - Sales of products in the first week
      • 03.30 - Customers with children
  • Evaluation contexts

    • Evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • Introduction to evaluation contexts
    • Filter context
    • Row context
    • Context errors
    • Filtering a table
    • Using RELATED in a row context
    • Ranking by price
    • Evaluation contexts and relationships
    • Filters and relationships
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 04.10 - Nested iterators
      • 04.20 - Customers in North America
      • 05.10 - Create a parameter table
  • The CALCULATE function

    • The CALCULATE function
      FREE
    • CALCULATE
    • CALCULATE examples
    • CALCULATE recap
    • What is a filter context?
    • KEEPFILTERS
    • CALCULATE operators
    • Use one column only in compact syntax
    • Variables and evaluation contexts
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.05 - Sales of red and blue products
      • 05.20 - Understanding CALCULATE
      • 05.25 - Sales of blue products
      • 05.15 - Computing percentages
  • Advanced evaluation contexts

    • Advanced evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • CALCULATE modifiers
    • USERELATIONSHIP
    • CROSSFILTER
    • ALL
    • ALLSELECTED
    • KEEPFILTERS
      FREE
    • Context transition
    • Context transition /2
    • Circular dependency
    • CALCULATE execution order
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.35 - Correct sales of grey products
      • 05.40 - Best customers
      • 05.45 - Customers buying many products
      • 05.50 - Large sales
      • 05.30 - Percentage of customers
      • 05.55 - Counting spikes
  • Iterators

    • Iterators
      FREE
    • Working with iterators
    • MINX and MAXX
    • Useful iterators
    • RANKX
    • ISINSCOPE
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 07.10 - Ranking customers (static)
      • 07.20 - Ranking customers (dynamic)
      • 07.30 - Date with the highest sales
      • 07.40 - Moving average
  • Building a date table

    • Building a date table
      FREE
    • Introduction to date table
    • Auto Date/Time
    • CALENDARAUTO
    • Mark as date table
    • Using multiple dates
  • Time intelligence in DAX

    • Time intelligence in DAX
      FREE
    • What is time intelligence?
      FREE
    • Time intelligence functions
      FREE
    • DATEADD
    • DATESINPERIOD
    • Running total
    • Mixing time intelligence functions
    • Semi-additive measures
    • Calculations over weeks
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 08.10 - Running total
      • 08.20 - Comparison YOY%
      • 08.30 - Sales in first three months
      • 08.40 - Semi-additive calculations
  • Hierarchies in DAX

    • Hierarchies in DAX
      FREE
    • What are hierarchies?
    • FILTER and CROSSFILTER
    • Percentages over hierarchies
    • Parent-child hierarchies
  • Querying with DAX

    • Querying with DAX
      FREE
    • Working with tables and queries
    • EVALUATE
    • CALCULATETABLE
    • SELECTCOLUMNS
    • SUMMARIZE
    • SUMMARIZECOLUMNS
    • CROSSJOIN
    • TOPN and GENERATE
    • ROW and DATATABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • UNION, INTERSECT, and EXCEPT
    • GROUPBY
    • Query measures
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 13.10 - Sales by year
      • 13.20 - Filtering and grouping sales
      • 13.30 - Using TOPN and GENERATE
      • 13.40 - Sales to top customers
      • 13.50 - Sales of top three colors
  • Data lineage and TREATAS

    • Data lineage and TREATAS
      FREE
    • What is data lineage?
    • TREATAS
  • Expanded tables

    • Expanded tables
      FREE
    • Filters are tables
    • Difference between base tables and expanded tables
    • Filtering a column
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.10 - Distinct count of countries
      • 14.20 - Sales quantity greater than two
  • Arbitrarily shaped filters

    • Arbitrarily shaped filters
      FREE
    • What are arbitrarily shaped filters?
    • Example of an arbitrarily shaped filter
  • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts

    • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts
      FREE
    • ALLSELECTED
    • Shadow filter contexts
  • Segmentation

    • Segmentation
      FREE
    • Static segmentation
    • Circular dependency in calculated tables
    • Dynamic segmentation
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.10 - Static segmentation
  • Many-to-many relationships

    • Many-to-many relationships
      FREE
    • How to handle many-to-many relationships
    • Bidirectional filtering
    • Expanded table filtering
    • Comparison of the different techniques
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.30 - Many-to-many relationships
  • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters

    • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters
      FREE
    • Understanding ambiguity
      FREE
  • Relationships at different granularities

    • Relationships at different granularities
      FREE
    • Working at different granularity
    • Using TREATAS
    • Calculated tables to slice dimensions
    • Leveraging weak relationships
    • Scenario recap
    • Checking granularity in the report
    • Hiding or reallocating
  • Additional exercises

    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.30 - Same product sales
      • 14.40 - Commentary on report
      • 15.20 - New customers
  • Calculation groups

    • Calculation groups
      FREE
    • Introducing calculation groups
      FREE
    • Basic measures
    • Calculation items are patterns
    • Creating calculation groups
    • Changing the format string
    • Excluding specific measures
    • Using calculation items in DAX
    • Calculation item application
    • Calculation items on complex expressions
    • Multiple calculation groups in a report
    • Understanding precedence in calculation groups
    • Reusing calculation items
    • Recursion and best practices
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 09.10 - Time calculations
      • 09.20 - Multiple calculation groups
      • 09.30 - Sold versus delivered
      • 09.40 - Min, Max and Avg calculation group
      • 09.50 - Top and bottom products
Student Rating
4.9
296 ratings
90%
8%
1%
1%
0%
Student Reviews (184)
  • Mark Bennett (Apr 23, 2021)

    Excellent!

  • Vladimir Rakascan (Apr 15, 2021)

    The course is great, I learned a lot! I will definitely watch the course again after some time spent practicing DAX. I would like to thank Marco and Alberto for making a huge effort to realize such good content.

  • Maria Katsanevas (Apr 13, 2021)

    great course

  • Hemanth Karur (Apr 9, 2021)

    Excellent curriculum and content, worked wonderful with your book as reference. Thank you for adding additional content on Calculation Groups.

  • Kishore Y C (Mar 31, 2021)

    This course is Treasure chest full of Gold. However, if you don't practice then this course will be of no use. I am eager to implement DAX in my office projects.

  • Jonathan Smith (Mar 25, 2021)

    Splendid course that I will revisit along with the relating book.

  • Simona Gauri-Reisch (Mar 22, 2021)

    Thank you for this course, it was extremely helpful!

  • Anna Kolbasova (Mar 19, 2021)

    Thank you, Alberto, Marco, Sergio, and the SQLBI Team! This is the most comprehensive DAX course to date and I am extremely happy to have completed it. I must admit that without the detailed explanation in the "Definite Guide to DAX, 2nd edition" book, which I was reading at the same time I was taking the course, I would not have been able to understand some of the complex topics. However, in certain situations, I did the opposite and re-watched the video after reading the article in the book and got the aha moment.

  • Sam Crowson (Mar 18, 2021)

    Fantastic course! Learnt so much about best practices to build a more efficient model.

  • Su Ming Ko (Mar 1, 2021)

    This is the most valuable course I have invested so far. Compulsory details are explained so that you understand how the DAX engine works under the hood. Exercises are interesting and I wish there are more exercises because that is where you squeeze your brain to think. As other reviewer mentioned, we wish there is more involvement in Power Query

  • Preston Barrett (Feb 22, 2021)

    This was a very helpful course in learning DAX. The videos were very informative and I learned a lot.

  • Leonardo Russo (Feb 17, 2021)

    fantastic course...you are the best even if DAX IS NOT EASY AT ALL!

  • Filip Aiello (Jan 28, 2021)

    Excellent! Content was explained in a pedagogical and practical way (on the "demo machine"). Many basic concepts became much clearer along the way. It would have been good to go through the data lineage parts early in the course, since that functionality is not intuitive to e.g. SQL Developers (as mentioned in one of those videos), but affects how one thinks the engine works and thus how one writes code. Also, I think it would have been helpful, at least for me, to visualize the propagation of filters throughout the course - e.g. through the use of Dax Studio (like how a filtered dimension table filters Sales, for instance). Since all this happens automatically, it becomes a bit of an abstraction.

    • Thanks for the feedback, it is very valuable! We know there are students with different backgrounds and the current examples are not specifically targeted to people who have a programmer or SQL knowledge. We are working on additional material that should provide exampled more familiar to those having different former experiences, like the one you indicated. We are going to improve the searches on our website, too - in the meantime, you can take a look at our YouTube channel where we post additional free videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/sqlbitv - They do not cover the specific topic you mentioned, but you might find interesting content, too. Regarding the tools, we are also investing on that side to get better visualizations also for the educational part. You will see the result of these efforts later this year.
      Reply by SQLBI (Jan 30, 2021)
  • JOSE MANUEL ORTEGA GARCIA (Jan 28, 2021)

    Great Course. I have learned a lot about DAX. Excellent teachers, excellent materials, EXCELLENT EVERYTHING! Top TOP

  • Maxim Smetanin (Jan 22, 2021)

    WOW, great course! My thanks to Marco, Alberto and Sergio for the great learning.

Would you prefer a classroom course?

This video course is based on a classroom course we teach all around the world. If you prefer a classroom learning experience, take a look at the dates below for a list of our upcoming classroom courses!
 Chicago, IL, US Mar 22-24, 2022
Chicago
 Charlotte, NC, US Mar 29-31, 2022
Charlotte
 Melbourne, VIC, AU May 17-19, 2022
Melbourne
 Sydney, NSW, AU May 24-26, 2022
Sydney