Mastering DAX Video Course

This is the video course version of the Mastering DAX workshop.
DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to learn and master the DAX language.

The goal of the course is to teach all the features of DAX, providing the knowledge to write formulas for common and advanced business scenarios. The video course is made up of over 15 hours of lectures, plus another 15-20 hours of individual exercises. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your progress. Within the course you can download the material for all the exercises.


Students have access to a private discussion area where they can interact with the instructors asking questions related to the lectures and the exercises.

Curriculum

  • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition

    • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition
      FREE
  • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos

    • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos
      FREE
    • How to download and complete exercises
      FREE
    • Download exercises
    • Download demos
    • Slides of the video course
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
      FREE
    • What is DAX?
      FREE
    • DAX data types
      FREE
    • Calculated columns
      FREE
    • Measures
      FREE
    • Aggregation functions
    • Counting values
    • Conditional functions
    • Handling errors
    • Using variables
    • Mathematical functions
    • Relational functions
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 02.10 - Average sales per customer
      • 02.20 - Average delivery time
      • 02.50 - Last update of customer
      • 02.40 - Working days
      • 02.30 - Discount categories
  • Table functions

    • Table functions
      FREE
    • Introduction to table functions
    • Filtering a table
    • Ignoring filters
    • Mixing filters
    • Distinct
    • How many values for a column
    • ALLSELECTED
    • RELATEDTABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • Tables with one row and one column
    • Table variables
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 03.20 - Percentage of sales
      • 03.10 - Delivery working days
      • 03.40 - Sales of products in the first week
      • 03.30 - Customers with children
  • Evaluation contexts

    • Evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • Introduction to evaluation contexts
    • Filter context
    • Row context
    • Context errors
    • Filtering a table
    • Using RELATED in a row context
    • Ranking by price
    • Evaluation contexts and relationships
    • Filters and relationships
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 04.10 - Nested iterators
      • 04.20 - Customers in North America
      • 05.10 - Create a parameter table
  • The CALCULATE function

    • The CALCULATE function
      FREE
    • CALCULATE
    • CALCULATE examples
    • CALCULATE recap
    • What is a filter context?
    • KEEPFILTERS
    • CALCULATE operators
    • Use one column only in compact syntax
    • Variables and evaluation contexts
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.05 - Sales of red and blue products
      • 05.20 - Understanding CALCULATE
      • 05.25 - Sales of blue products
      • 05.15 - Computing percentages
  • Advanced evaluation contexts

    • Advanced evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • CALCULATE modifiers
    • USERELATIONSHIP
    • CROSSFILTER
    • ALL
    • ALLSELECTED
    • KEEPFILTERS
      FREE
    • Context transition
    • Context transition /2
    • Circular dependency
    • CALCULATE execution order
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.35 - Correct sales of grey products
      • 05.40 - Best customers
      • 05.45 - Customers buying many products
      • 05.50 - Large sales
      • 05.30 - Percentage of customers
      • 05.55 - Counting spikes
  • Iterators

    • Iterators
      FREE
    • Working with iterators
    • MINX and MAXX
    • Useful iterators
    • RANKX
    • ISINSCOPE
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 07.10 - Ranking customers (static)
      • 07.20 - Ranking customers (dynamic)
      • 07.30 - Date with the highest sales
      • 07.40 - Moving average
  • Building a date table

    • Building a date table
      FREE
    • Introduction to date table
    • Auto Date/Time
    • CALENDARAUTO
    • Mark as date table
    • Using multiple dates
  • Time intelligence in DAX

    • Time intelligence in DAX
      FREE
    • What is time intelligence?
      FREE
    • Time intelligence functions
      FREE
    • DATEADD
    • DATESINPERIOD
    • Running total
    • Mixing time intelligence functions
    • Semi-additive measures
    • Calculations over weeks
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 08.10 - Running total
      • 08.20 - Comparison YOY%
      • 08.30 - Sales in first three months
      • 08.40 - Semi-additive calculations
  • Hierarchies in DAX

    • Hierarchies in DAX
      FREE
    • What are hierarchies?
    • FILTER and CROSSFILTER
    • Percentages over hierarchies
    • Parent-child hierarchies
  • Querying with DAX

    • Querying with DAX
      FREE
    • Working with tables and queries
    • EVALUATE
    • CALCULATETABLE
    • SELECTCOLUMNS
    • SUMMARIZE
    • SUMMARIZECOLUMNS
    • CROSSJOIN
    • TOPN and GENERATE
    • ROW and DATATABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • UNION, INTERSECT, and EXCEPT
    • GROUPBY
    • Query measures
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 13.10 - Sales by year
      • 13.20 - Filtering and grouping sales
      • 13.30 - Using TOPN and GENERATE
      • 13.40 - Sales to top customers
      • 13.50 - Sales of top three colors
  • Data lineage and TREATAS

    • Data lineage and TREATAS
      FREE
    • What is data lineage?
    • TREATAS
  • Expanded tables

    • Expanded tables
      FREE
    • Filters are tables
    • Difference between base tables and expanded tables
    • Filtering a column
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.10 - Distinct count of countries
      • 14.20 - Sales quantity greater than two
  • Arbitrarily shaped filters

    • Arbitrarily shaped filters
      FREE
    • What are arbitrarily shaped filters?
    • Example of an arbitrarily shaped filter
  • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts

    • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts
      FREE
    • ALLSELECTED
    • Shadow filter contexts
  • Segmentation

    • Segmentation
      FREE
    • Static segmentation
    • Circular dependency in calculated tables
    • Dynamic segmentation
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.10 - Static segmentation
  • Many-to-many relationships

    • Many-to-many relationships
      FREE
    • How to handle many-to-many relationships
    • Bidirectional filtering
    • Expanded table filtering
    • Comparison of the different techniques
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.30 - Many-to-many relationships
  • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters

    • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters
      FREE
    • Understanding ambiguity
      FREE
  • Relationships at different granularities

    • Relationships at different granularities
      FREE
    • Working at different granularity
    • Using TREATAS
    • Calculated tables to slice dimensions
    • Leveraging weak relationships
    • Scenario recap
    • Checking granularity in the report
    • Hiding or reallocating
  • Additional exercises

    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.30 - Same product sales
      • 14.40 - Commentary on report
      • 15.20 - New customers
  • Calculation groups

    • Calculation groups
      FREE
    • Introducing calculation groups
      FREE
    • Basic measures
    • Calculation items are patterns
    • Creating calculation groups
    • Changing the format string
    • Excluding specific measures
    • Using calculation items in DAX
    • Calculation item application
    • Calculation items on complex expressions
    • Multiple calculation groups in a report
    • Understanding precedence in calculation groups
    • Reusing calculation items
    • Recursion and best practices
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 09.10 - Time calculations
      • 09.20 - Multiple calculation groups
      • 09.30 - Sold versus delivered
      • 09.40 - Min, Max and Avg calculation group
      • 09.50 - Top and bottom products

Training Platform

This course is conducted through our training platform which is immersive and designed to facilitate your experience.

Discover all the features

Student Rating
4.9
193 ratings
88%
10%
1%
1%
0%
Student Reviews (130)
  • Fabricio Mendes (Sep 7, 2020)

    The course is excellent and gave you a complete view of DAX. I believe it would be important to talk about M, then it would be a deep insight into Power BI

  • Sergio Siffredi (Aug 24, 2020)

    excellent training and awesome trainers

  • Santosh Raghunath (Aug 22, 2020)

    Marco and Alberto are Amazing. Explaining DAX is not easy. Marco and Alberto make it easy for understanding. Exercises provided are super amazing. Makes you think hard and this, in turn, helps you grow. On the other hand, Sergio quickly replies back to your discussions with appropriate answers. By the time we finish the course, we feel like a family. Family of DAX. Thank you.

  • CARLOS A. CABRERA QUIROGA (Aug 19, 2020)

    Gran curso Alberto y Marco, dominan DAX y su forma de enseñar es bastante buena.

  • Yael Amitay - Preiss (Aug 19, 2020)

    thanks a lot! it was a great course!

  • Andradhige Tharindhu Anuradha (Aug 17, 2020)

    Finally I am done. Learned a lot of DAX concepts. Thanks

  • Ka Ly (Aug 14, 2020)

    Absolutely wonderful course. Alberto and Marco are Professionals at the highest level with the ability to teach highly complex topics in DAX. I will have to watch this course and review the book several times to get all the knowledge that they are presenting. I highly recommend this course for all Power BI users. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge!

  • Paolo Rizzo (Aug 13, 2020)

    I am amazed by the amount of work you have put in this video course. Very interesting and didactic. I would have appreciated Power BI demos for the new chapter on calculation groups. In conclusion, you made me realize what I want to work for my future career. Many thanks!

  • Jonathan Owney (Aug 13, 2020)

    This is the most comprehensive course you will find on DAX anywhere. I found it helps to read along in the book ("The Definitive Guide to DAX") and then watch the videos as I go. The book mirrors the course content and order almost exactly. The one thing I hope they improve on are the exercises. For most modules there are one to three exercises but for some there are none. I would definitely understand the content and retain the knowledge better if there were more examples to work out for each module. While some people who take this course can apply the knowledge directly to there work others, like myself, don't work with DAX in our days jobs but eventually want to so the more exercises we can try the better. It could even benefit from quiz's along the way and a test at the end.

  • Jorge Daniel (Aug 4, 2020)

    Hi Alberto and Marco, Great course. Actually it was much more than I expected and I will surely revisit the content many times.

  • Rodolfo Flores Mendez (Jul 22, 2020)

    I am a business consultant that in the past 2 years transitioned from conventional data analytics tools (a.k.a "excel") to more sophisticated data analytics and data science engines. I had been looking for a long time for a comprehensive course on DAX and PowerBI, that covered enough theory to consider myself a DAX developer, and feel comfortable writing complex code in DAX for more sophisticated business applications. I am very happy to say that THIS IS THE COURSE. It is the perfect balance between a pragmatic and a theoretical approach. It has helped me skill-up to the next level in DAX and I found it to be the best course available in the market. Other training programs are too "generic", they cover only the basics and leave a lot of loopholes. They try to get you something “fast” and “simple” so you can apply PowerBI right away, but such courses don’t make you a DAX expert, just a superficial analyst. This course is the only one that again, really skills you up to the next level to consider yourself a true DAX coder. Cant wait to take the Optimizing DAX course! Congratulations to Alberto and Marco, I am your #1 FAN.

  • David Bianconi (Jul 20, 2020)

    This was the best course I have ever followed and not only with regards to Business Intelligence. Congratulations to all the SQLBI staff

  • Sandeep Singh (Jul 13, 2020)

    I have just completed 50% of the course, and honestly I can understand the mechanics of DAX, this is not an beginner course for sure, but it will take your DAX knowledge to the next level. Can't wait to start on reading the book - 'Definitive Guide to DAX - 2nd Edition' after completing this. I have just a suggestion, if new exercises are added constantly modelled after real life business problems, the course would have warranted 6 stars. But the included examples are tough and in depth to test you knowledge of DAX. Bow down to DAX wizards, Marco Russo and Alberto Ferrari!!

  • Amaru Quinones (Jul 12, 2020)

    Extremely great!!

  • Armando Barajas (Jul 9, 2020)

    Excelent course

Would you prefer a classroom course?

This video course is based on a classroom course we teach all around the world. If you prefer a classroom learning experience, take a look at the dates below for a list of our upcoming classroom courses!
 Charlotte, NC, US Feb 9-11, 2021
Charlotte
 Chicago, IL, US Feb 15-17, 2021
Chicago
 Melbourne, VIC, AU Feb 22-24, 2021
Melbourne
 Sydney, NSW, AU Mar 1-3, 2021
Sydney