Mastering DAX Video Course

This is the video course version of the Mastering DAX workshop.
DAX is the native language of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and SSAS Tabular models in Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services. The training is aimed at users of Power BI, Power Pivot for Excel, and at Analysis Services developers that want to learn and master the DAX language.

The goal of the course is to teach all the features of DAX, providing the knowledge to write formulas for common and advanced business scenarios. The video course is made up of over 15 hours of lectures, plus another 15-20 hours of individual exercises. You can watch the videos at anytime and the system will keep track of your progress. Within the course you can download the material for all the exercises.

Students have access to a private discussion area where they can interact with the instructors asking questions related to the lectures and the exercises.

Collapse allCurriculum

  • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition

    • Presentation of Mastering DAX 2nd Edition
      FREE
  • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos

    • Exercises, labs, slides, and demos
      FREE
    • How to download and complete exercises
      FREE
    • Download exercises
    • Download demos
    • Slides of the video course
  • Introduction to DAX

    • Introduction to DAX
      FREE
    • What is DAX?
      FREE
    • DAX data types
      FREE
    • Calculated columns
      FREE
    • Measures
      FREE
    • Aggregation functions
    • Counting values
    • Conditional functions
    • Handling errors
    • Using variables
    • Mathematical functions
    • Relational functions
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 02.10 - Average sales per customer
      • 02.20 - Average delivery time
      • 02.50 - Last update of customer
      • 02.40 - Working days
      • 02.30 - Discount categories
  • Table functions

    • Table functions
      FREE
    • Introduction to table functions
    • Filtering a table
    • Ignoring filters
    • Mixing filters
    • Distinct
    • How many values for a column
    • ALLSELECTED
    • RELATEDTABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • Tables with one row and one column
    • Table variables
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 03.20 - Percentage of sales
      • 03.10 - Delivery working days
      • 03.40 - Sales of products in the first week
      • 03.30 - Customers with children
  • Evaluation contexts

    • Evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • Introduction to evaluation contexts
    • Filter context
    • Row context
    • Context errors
    • Filtering a table
    • Using RELATED in a row context
    • Ranking by price
    • Evaluation contexts and relationships
    • Filters and relationships
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 04.10 - Nested iterators
      • 04.20 - Customers in North America
      • 05.10 - Create a parameter table
  • The CALCULATE function

    • The CALCULATE function
      FREE
    • CALCULATE
    • CALCULATE examples
    • CALCULATE recap
    • What is a filter context?
    • KEEPFILTERS
    • CALCULATE operators
    • Use one column only in compact syntax
    • Variables and evaluation contexts
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.05 - Sales of red and blue products
      • 05.20 - Understanding CALCULATE
      • 05.25 - Sales of blue products
      • 05.15 - Computing percentages
  • Advanced evaluation contexts

    • Advanced evaluation contexts
      FREE
    • CALCULATE modifiers
    • USERELATIONSHIP
    • CROSSFILTER
    • ALL
    • ALLSELECTED
    • KEEPFILTERS
      FREE
    • Context transition
    • Context transition /2
    • Circular dependency
    • CALCULATE execution order
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 05.35 - Correct sales of grey products
      • 05.40 - Best customers
      • 05.45 - Customers buying many products
      • 05.50 - Large sales
      • 05.30 - Percentage of customers
      • 05.55 - Counting spikes
  • Iterators

    • Iterators
      FREE
    • Working with iterators
    • MINX and MAXX
    • Useful iterators
    • RANKX
    • ISINSCOPE
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 07.10 - Ranking customers (static)
      • 07.20 - Ranking customers (dynamic)
      • 07.30 - Date with the highest sales
      • 07.40 - Moving average
  • Building a date table

    • Building a date table
      FREE
    • Introduction to date table
    • Auto Date/Time
    • CALENDARAUTO
    • Mark as date table
    • Using multiple dates
  • Time intelligence in DAX

    • Time intelligence in DAX
      FREE
    • What is time intelligence?
      FREE
    • Time intelligence functions
      FREE
    • DATEADD
    • DATESINPERIOD
    • Running total
    • Mixing time intelligence functions
    • Semi-additive measures
    • Calculations over weeks
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 08.10 - Running total
      • 08.20 - Comparison YOY%
      • 08.30 - Sales in first three months
      • 08.40 - Semi-additive calculations
  • Hierarchies in DAX

    • Hierarchies in DAX
      FREE
    • What are hierarchies?
    • FILTER and CROSSFILTER
    • Percentages over hierarchies
    • Parent-child hierarchies
  • Querying with DAX

    • Querying with DAX
      FREE
    • Working with tables and queries
    • EVALUATE
    • CALCULATETABLE
    • SELECTCOLUMNS
    • SUMMARIZE
    • SUMMARIZECOLUMNS
    • CROSSJOIN
    • TOPN and GENERATE
    • ROW and DATATABLE
    • Tables and relationships
    • UNION, INTERSECT, and EXCEPT
    • GROUPBY
    • Query measures
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 13.10 - Sales by year
      • 13.20 - Filtering and grouping sales
      • 13.30 - Using TOPN and GENERATE
      • 13.40 - Sales to top customers
      • 13.50 - Sales of top three colors
  • Data lineage and TREATAS

    • Data lineage and TREATAS
      FREE
    • What is data lineage?
    • TREATAS
  • Expanded tables

    • Expanded tables
      FREE
    • Filters are tables
    • Difference between base tables and expanded tables
    • Filtering a column
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.10 - Distinct count of countries
      • 14.20 - Sales quantity greater than two
  • Arbitrarily shaped filters

    • Arbitrarily shaped filters
      FREE
    • What are arbitrarily shaped filters?
    • Example of an arbitrarily shaped filter
  • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts

    • ALLSELECTED and shadow filter contexts
      FREE
    • ALLSELECTED
    • Shadow filter contexts
  • Segmentation

    • Segmentation
      FREE
    • Static segmentation
    • Circular dependency in calculated tables
    • Dynamic segmentation
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.10 - Static segmentation
  • Many-to-many relationships

    • Many-to-many relationships
      FREE
    • How to handle many-to-many relationships
    • Bidirectional filtering
    • Expanded table filtering
    • Comparison of the different techniques
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 15.30 - Many-to-many relationships
  • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters

    • Ambiguity and bidirectional filters
      FREE
    • Understanding ambiguity
      FREE
  • Relationships at different granularities

    • Relationships at different granularities
      FREE
    • Working at different granularity
    • Using TREATAS
    • Calculated tables to slice dimensions
    • Leveraging weak relationships
    • Scenario recap
    • Checking granularity in the report
    • Hiding or reallocating
  • Additional exercises

    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 14.30 - Same product sales
      • 14.40 - Commentary on report
      • 15.20 - New customers
  • Calculation groups

    • Calculation groups
      FREE
    • Introducing calculation groups
      FREE
    • Basic measures
    • Calculation items are patterns
    • Creating calculation groups
    • Changing the format string
    • Excluding specific measures
    • Using calculation items in DAX
    • Calculation item application
    • Calculation items on complex expressions
    • Multiple calculation groups in a report
    • Understanding precedence in calculation groups
    • Reusing calculation items
    • Recursion and best practices
    • Exercises
      FREE
    • Exercises solutions
      Added Nov 20, 2020

      • Exercises solutions
      • 09.10 - Time calculations
      • 09.20 - Multiple calculation groups
      • 09.30 - Sold versus delivered
      • 09.40 - Min, Max and Avg calculation group
      • 09.50 - Top and bottom products
Student Rating
4.9
334 ratings
90%
8%
1%
1%
0%
5-star Reviews (186 of 206)
  • Steven Fortier (Sep 11, 2018)

    Thank you so much for this course. Alberto and Marco are really the best teacher you can get to teach you DAX. I had already 1 year of experience with Power Pivot but this course helped me a lot to understand all the works under the hood. I will definitely buy their book in the next months.

  • Joe Chamberlain (Jun 15, 2018)

    Excellently explained and delivered, will find this very useful. If I'm honest I found the exercises very difficult, but I probably didn't allow myself enough time. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Izacc Moreira (Feb 26, 2018)

    Thats a great course!!!!

  • Bhavesh Patel (Dec 21, 2017)

    The Best DAX Course in the World!

  • Feiwei Yang (Dec 11, 2017)

    Awesome!

  • Flora Fangfang Zhao (Dec 8, 2017)

    This course is definitely the must-learn if anyone wants to use Power BI in a proficient way. From my own experience, it would be more efficient to follow the course and at the same time read the book . I appreciate that Marco and Alberto answer to all questions I posted on the web with as many details as possible. Thanks a lot and keep up the terrific work!

  • Andrew Mackay (Oct 21, 2017)

    What can I say, you guys are great at what you do and in short this course is what is says on the can.I feel like I can Master DAX with more time and practice and the material covered allows me to know I can do it by understanding these areas as a foundation. Very cool thanks

  • Mark Walter (Aug 27, 2017)

    I've been using and learning DAX over the last three years. This course helped highlight the concepts I needed to advance my understanding over and above what I already knew of evaluation context and the subtleties of how the engine works. Thanks!!

  • Michael Girvin (Aug 11, 2017)

    Thank you very much for the amazing DAX Course!!!! : )

  • Mario Anzaldua (Jul 24, 2017)

    This is a fabulous course. I spent many hours with The Definitive Guide to DAX and still struggled to write the formulas I needed. Finally, I took this course. Marco and Alberto have built a course that takes you from the very basics and has you writing complex formulas by the end. The course is filled with real-world examples of calculations you can use. If you struggle at all with DAX, this course is well worth the investment.

  • Marta Ramos (Jul 24, 2017)

    Excelent

  • Raisur Rahman (Jul 2, 2017)

    Finest course I have ever purchased. If your want to learn DAX it is a must.

  • Paulo Rocha (Jun 26, 2017)

    SQLBI is the leading company in BI nowadays! The material provided and the expertise of Maestros Marco and Alberto are unmatched. After reading "The Definitive Guide do DAX" and attending the DAX Workshop in London, I have no doubt this is the best course available today. I'm also enjoying the new course Power BI Dashboard by SQLBI.

  • Tom Littlejohn (Jun 15, 2017)

    One of the most effective video courses that I've ever taken. Very well organized, wonderfully communicated. Well done!

  • SQLBI (May 14, 2017)

    Highly Satisfied!

Would you prefer a classroom course?

This video course is based on a classroom course we teach all around the world. If you prefer a classroom learning experience, take a look at the dates below for a list of our upcoming classroom courses!
 Amsterdam, NL May 23-25, 2022
Amsterdam
 Seattle, WA, US Jun 21-23, 2022
Seattle
 Las Vegas, NV, US Jun 28-30, 2022
Las Vegas
 Melbourne, VIC, AU Oct 11-13, 2022
Melbourne
 Sydney, NSW, AU Oct 17-19, 2022
Sydney